The End of the Nike Women’s Marathon Road?

Standard

[UPDATE! Ijust found out I can apply the funds I have already raised to a different marathon: The PF Chang Marathon in January. It has a much lower $$ minimum, and since it’s local, I don’t have to get a hotel and everything. And best of all, I only need to raise about $500 more to make it! I’m so happy, I feel like dancing. But I won’t, because that’s how people like me get hurt!]

 Right now, it appears that I will need to drop out of the Team in Training efforts to participate in the Nike Women’s Marathon in October.

The reason is not because I am lazy, or decided it’s not worth the effort, or anything like that: It’s because I don’t have room on my credit card right now (and won’t, by the end of September, when it’s the deadline for me to finish raising funds to meet my $3,200 goal) to make up the difference between what I have raised and what I still owe.

I thought I had more time to do this, and didn’t realize that the Recommitment stage requires this kind of commitment. For most people, making a credit card commitment like this wouldn’t be a problem. After all, there is always the very real possibility that the money can be raised by the deadline, and they will never end up charging the card. Or, they have wiggle room on the card and don’t mind paying for the whole thing if they have to. (That was me, a year ago, before money got out of control and my bills skyrocketed, forcing me to use my credit cards for things I didn’t want to use them for. Including my initial registration fee for Team in Training, actually!)

I’m trying to be realistic here, and as much as I want to believe I can do it– I can rally the troops and get the money raised that I need– I also know that I have reached out to everyone I know and people have given what they are able to give. I don’t know rich people. No one has money to donate to a cause like this, really… it’s asking a lot of people in a tough economy. I’m amazed at what I HAVE raised, to be honest! It’s so cool. So humbling.

I can’t help but feel like a failure on some levels. I feel like a financially irresponsible moron. All this hard work, all the time and effort I have spent to get to this point can’t be in vain. No way! I had a chance to quit or phase this thing out when the SI ligament sprain happened, and I didn’t do it. That’s one of the greatest things I have ever done. I’m so glad I didn’t give up.

And I am not giving up now!

So, maybe I can’t run this particular race. I most certainly can run OTHER races, races that don’t require this kind of intense fundraising. Case in point: The PF Chang’s Rock and Roll Marathon here in Phoenix this coming January. I plan to do the half marathon, probably alongside some local friends!! It will be awesome.

I’m going to run a half marathon. And then another. And then maybe a full marathon. And more… and more…

I want to be a runner.

And I will be one. This shit ain’t over yet.

Read about it here: My Fundraising Page.

2 responses »

  1. I think this will be best for you. Phoenix will be a good start and hopefully I will run it too! I just have to figure out when I can get training in. Boo. I’m almost thinking of buying a jogging stroller so I can just put a sleeping kiddo in it while I run.

    But I’m so excited for you! You are SO going to be a runner! 🙂

  2. You are not a failure! You are still doing a race so that is wonderful! And now you have another goal to reach for next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

