Ben Barnes is a nerd…

Standard

And I love nerds.

Here he is geeking out over being next to Jeff Bridges at a Comicon panel for their movie, The Seventh Son. Guys who do *this* face are awesome:

Yay! Eye candy, eye candy, eye candy…!

In other news, my sister has created some possible tattoo designs for me. So far, they are very cute. Here’s one I love:

I did my 4:45 workout with the team this morning; I didn’t dream I ate something and ended up missing the whole thing, like last week. I also went further than ever, and got to see a hot air balloon being inflated and then taking off, and the charred skeleton of an 18-wheeler that apparently caught fire and was now resting in the back lot of some mechanic/body shop business. It was kind of cool.

A little while ago, I decided to go donate blood. It’s been about 4 years since the debacle that happened last time. (They couldn’t find a vein in my right arm after poking around a lot; they found one in the left arm but hit a tendon first, which is the grossest sensation in the world… and then, since so much time had passed I ended up fainting on the bloodmobile, and then again later when my friends drove me home from work. I passed out right on my front lawn, inches from the front door! So yes, that was a crappy experience.) Today, everything went fine and although there was so trouble locating my vein (I have “small veins” according to the lady), eventually it was in and not painful at all. I had copious amounts of Capri Sun juice and Famous Amos cookies before I left, too, so there would be none of that lightheaded, gonna-pass-out business.

I don’t know what possessed me to do this today, but whatever, I guess. I do know that doing all this stuff for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society gets you thinking about all the other ways you can help sick people. And then the Norway shooting situation has just horrified me. I was thinking if this happened here, god forbid, we’d need a lot of blood for people. I’ve felt guilty for awhile now for pussing out and not donating again after that last time, and suddenly I felt brave enough to go for it again. It felt pretty cool to make that decision.

Well, I’m off to spend the rest of the afternoon lounging around, reading Divergent and probably watching a movie later or something. And keep this little black cat glued to me, apparently… right now, he is sleeping on my desk with his two hind legs draped over my right wrist and hand. As I type, his legs are moving as a result. Such a goofball! But it’s really neat to have a cat that does this, all the time. Gremlin occupies a much-needed place in this house. The Cuddler. Dare I say… the Snuggler?! Maybe!

I can’t help it. Here’s more Ben Barnes adorableness and/or weirdness. Anyone who is a fan who finds this blog, this is totally for you, too! We fans have to stick together and keep sharing these photos. I heart the internet.  🙂

(The fact that he would have this shirt, and wear it in public, only goes to show that yeah, this guy could be my soul mate. Oh yeeeeaaaaah.)

8 responses »

  1. Hello, my name is Jennifer and I am a new Ben Barnes convert. I finally watched all 3 of those long-ass Narnia movies (last weekend and this), and HOLY CRAP! Though I like him better in the 2nd one, with shorter hair. But still… OMG. Now I get what you have been talking about all these years. Make me another movie. Stat!

    All of that aside, I admire folks for donating blood. I’ve still never done it. Some kind of paranoia sets in about “what if I finally decided to donate blood, and when I get there they find out I have something I didn’t know I had…” Don’t try to understand it. It’s like the organ donor thing. I know I should sign my card, particularly since I’ve worked so damn hard to keep myself and my body parts healthy, and yet some part of me always decides not to.

    I like that you enlisted your sister’s help with the tatoo- that was genious! She’s got some good ideas, too! All I thought of when you mentioned clockwork dog was that one on the commercial about people worried their “pipes” might leak…

  2. Welcome, Jen!! I love you! I’m so glad someone else finally gets it. Good GOD. Now, go watch “Dorian Gray.” Immediately. 😉
    (He has short hair in “Easy Virtue” so you might like that one a lot, too.)

    I was really scared of donating blood before I did it, but it’s really NOT bad at all. (Well, unless you have them poke the tendon and you pass out, but STILL.) And it’s highly unlikely they’d find something wrong with your blood that you didn’t know about! I encourage giving it a try. You’ll feel really good about it, which is the best part.

    I love my sister’s artistic talents. Plus, it would be awesome as hell to have a sister-designed tattoo, rather than “some random dude at the tattoo parlor.” Now I just need to save up some money to do it…

    LOL about that leaky pipes commercial! I kinda like the look of those people. Sucks that they represent people with urinary incontinence… Such is life, I guess.

  3. I still watch all those naked scenes from Dorian Gray from time to time. 🙂

    And I am happy to report he was #24 on the Top 100 hottest male actor list I read yesterday. 🙂

    I need to go donate blood before I get a tattoo. Thanks for reminding me.

  4. Ohhhh yeah, I can’t believe I forgot that you loved the beautiful hotness of “Dorian Gray,” too! And he made a top 100 list? Awwww, that’s cool! I have a feeling he’s going to get popular and we’re all gonna be like, “We knew it well before everyone else, so we’re the coolest!” Well, we are already the coolest anyway, but you know what I mean.

    The tattoo/donating blood this is definitely something to consider… I guess it could be a good excuse though when the bloodbank calls and wants some more of yer blood, and I did use it myself a couple of times. I think it puts them off for a year or something. But now I’m feeling like I want to do this again, and don’t necessarily want to use the ol’ “just got a tattoo” excuse anymore. It sure is a good excuse though, not to get stuck with a needle. Weird, isn’t it? A tattoo is so much more painful, too! Talk about getting stuck with needles. Oy.

    Well, either way, I am glad you’re a blood donor, too! Yay! 🙂

  5. I don’t like the “short” short hair, though. I don’t like it really long, but I don’t like it as short as it is in most of the pics you posted. That in-between length was good.

    I like those pipe people, too. I always stop and watch that commercial because I think it’s just such a clever thing some genius came up with.

  6. Yeah, I don’t like the short-short hair, either… he looks so much hotter with longer hair! (Maybe not as long as it is in the third Narnia movie, but yeah, I do know the length you’re talkin’ about.) 😉

Leave a Reply

