Breaking in the shoes

Standard

Oh, dear God… my run this morning hurt so much!

I only managed to get in about 13 minutes of running (down 4 minutes from Monday) because of pain in my legs. Now, here’s the thing: it was my first day wearing my new running shoes with the custom insoles.

Does that have to do with anything? I did everything else right. I got up and ate one hour before I went on my run. I warmed up and then I stretched. And yet, once I got out there and began the workout, my lower legs began to cramp up so much.

It’s kind of like the shin splint pain I felt before, only it’s a little more on the outside of my leg. And it is in both legs. (Previously, my right shin was the only one bothering me.) I honestly think it has to do with my new shoes. Will it get better once they are broken in a bit more/ my muscles acclimate to the good shoes? Are my muscles so conditioned to crappy old shoes that when they finally get to experience supportive, correct shoes, they freak out? Is that what happened?

Either way, yuck. I was slower than ever, and the whole workout wasn’t satisfying in any way. I’m sad about it. I had hoped for the more energized, happy feeling I had on Monday.

I’m scheduled to run again tomorrow morning, so I sure hope things feel a little better by then. Otherwise it’s just going to be a walk. Boo. 😦

5 responses »

  1. cramping can be caused by a lack of potassium, magnesium or sodium. my sister calls them Yums. try to start with a sports drink or finish with banana or other food or drink that has your minerals in.

    though, when I roller skate/blade, I generally get cramping around my calves from the constriction of bad fitting shoes/boots. my legs are just not use to it, though you wear shoes all the time so I am not sure why that would happen.

    good luck!

  2. It’s definitely not a nutritional issue, since I ate half a banana and half an English muffin an hour before running (and ate the rest after)… I think it’s something to do with the shoes, I really do. Maybe they are too tight and I’m getting constricted, like you said? Ugh. Who knows? This whole thing feels like trial and error, every time I go out there.

  3. Custom insoles (or even custom-fit shoes) tend to force your legs into proper alignment. That’s what hurts. People who typically over/under -pronate their feet (ankles roll in, ankles roll out…) can experience a lot of lower leg pain when adapting to shoes or insoles designed to correct this. Most of us are habitually walking around incorrectly, we just don’t know it til we’re professionally fit with the proper footwear. Meanwhile, the weaknesses/strengths created on opposing sides of the leg start screaing in protest. Sometimes it also can (and will) affect the shins, knees and hips. It’s a chain reaction, you know the song “The thigh bone’s connected to the hip bone…” Well, once you alter the alignment of one joint, it shifts the alignment of every other joint all the way up the chain. Most people I know get so fed up with the pain that they toss the new, special foot accessories and go back to their old standard shoes. That’s a whole other can of worms. Bottom line is, if you can stand it, it WILL get better… You know how things above and below the isolated joint start to hurt after a while of wearing say, a knee or ankle brace? It’s because you’ve immobilized that joint, which causes added stress to the joints above/below it- it’s kind of the same difference as what you’re experiencing.

  4. Thank you, Jen! Seriously… this was the info I was trying to find out. In between work today, I’ve been doing some quick searches on the topic of pain when using new insoles/shoes and so far I haven’t found anything. I have no plans to go back to my old shoes, though! Even if this hurts, I have to believe it will get better. I think I’ll wear those new sneakers/insoles as much as possible for the next several days, just to keep on getting used to them outside of training. Pain, schmain… I can take it. I mean, I survived endometriosis and a ruptured disk/sciatica and THAT SHIT was bad! 🙂

Leave a Reply

