The brave little jackabee loves Moby and Lykke Li

Standard

What’s a jackabee?

Apparently, that’s the name for the designer dog breed that my protagonist owns. Of course, his dog is just considered a mutt, from a shelter. But thanks to the internet, I found out that there’s a name for a Jack Russell Terrier/ Beagle mix. Jackabee.

It’s a cute name, I’ll give it that much.

I wanted to see if I could find a picture that matches the dog I’ve been seeing in my head now for a few years, and I was all giddy when I saw this photo– this is Dingo!

I chose these two breeds because I needed a dog that was highly trainable, had a great sense of smell and could also be a little fiesty with people he doesn’t particularly like. 🙂

Oh, man. It’s been a fabulous week. On the outside, it doesn’t seem like much. I didn’t win the lottery or anything. Instead, it was a peaceful, quiet week at work and I got everything done with time to spare. Lots of it. I wrote and wrote. I’m still guilty of tweaking earlier chapters as I go, but what can ya do? I’m a trained editor. I’m used to editing as I write my work articles.

Marathon:

I am ticked off about one thing with this marathon: the trainer has yet to send me the URL to “my personal fundraising website.” I was supposed to get the URL when I registered (last Saturday). I didn’t. Then, I sent emails to the trainer on Wednesday, Thursday and today asking for it and I am getting no response. Come on, man! I’m psyched and ready to get going on this already… don’t you dare hold me up. At least this weekend there’s a meeting and the trainer is supposed to be there, so I plan to get answers and a URL before I leave.

I’ve been stretching and walking. Nothing crazy or really tough. Just trying to be careful but still begin the training process. I think the first actual training session is next Saturday. But I can’t wait. I still need to get some sneakers. The ones I have are a joke. I’ve had them for about a year, so they are well broken in, all right… and old. Not a good idea to train in those. They’re only good for doing yardwork at this point.

Music:

Right now, I’ve been relistening to a Moby album from 2005, Hotel. I don’t know how it got shuffled off into a box and passed over for a couple of years. The last time I know I listened to it was when I lived with the Ex. Anyway, I was listening to samples of Moby’s brand new album Destroyed tonight and the next thing you know, I’m digging through my CD collection to find this particular album. I remember loving it and always meant for it to be a good writing album (something to play while I write). I can’t believe it never made it onto my computer’s Music file! Well, it’s there now.

I posted this on FB tonight, but wanted to share it here, too. This is my favorite song from Hotel. I didn’t know there was a video… and that the video featured a cute little kitten from a spaceship! I’m loving this so much right now:

There’s another cool Moby album from 2009 that I play a lot. Wait for Me. The title song is my favorite. The cool thing about this song is it always seems to come on my iPod shuffle when it’s raining outside. So this is my rainy day song. And also, it’s another fantastic writing song. It’s melancholy, but pretty… you’ll like it:

(That’s not much of a video, true. The song’s the point.)

Since I’m on the subject of music, I need to urge you again to listen to Wounded Rhymes by Lykke Li. I think it’s my personal favorite album of the year. I’m not sick of listening to it on heavy rotation, either. I can’t pick a favorite song, but this is one that I particularly enjoy:

…and this is a nice live version, too!

And this is her single, I think. Also another of my favorite songs on the album. I Follow Rivers:

PS: How do you like the new layout? I felt like I needed something new.

3 responses »

  1. You might find Runners World magazine (or their website) helpful in planning your training. A lot of my serious runner friends use it religiously.

  2. Thanks for the tip! I am overwhelmed somewhat at the sheer amount of stuff on the web… I almost don’t know where to start, and which are the best sites.

  3. I am loving the black layout! Very chic and cool. I need some help jazzing up my blog look. It’s been about a year and I still haven’t fine tuned it to my liking.

Leave a Reply

