Music you might not be familiar with… but you should be.

Standard

And now, because I can’t think of a damn thing to write about, I think I will list some of my current favorite things. Hey, if Oprah’s allowed to have that My Favorite Things list, well…so can I. I am something like 150 times more powerful than Oprah, after all. (Well, in the eyes of my pets, anyway. They don’t even know who she is.)

This post covers MUSIC:

* Noah and the Whale. Specifically, the song “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.” Not only is this song incredibly catchy, the lyrics are very unique and descriptive. I heard this song on Amazon, which is where I find most of my new music, and had to download the album. Yesterday I found some videos, and so I love them even more now. I love their sound. I don’t have a lot of music that sounds like this, so it’s a cool change for my palate. And something about their sound says “spring” to me, making them perfect for this time of year.

* St. Lola in the Fields. Yet another Amazon find, and an album I’m still getting to know. I have a problem with keeping my iPod on shuffle all the time, so a lot of the time I’m hearing a new album one song at a time because I listen while I drive, and I can’t exactly be messing around with the menu button in the car. Anyway, every time St. Lola in the Fields comes on, I’ve been really enjoying it. My favorite song at the moment is probably “Hold Me.” Give it a try:

(I just found out, thanks to this video, this song has some tie to the show “Pretty Little Liars”…which, incidentally, looks AWFUL. Boo.)

* The Pains of Being Pure At Heart. Found these guys through NPR last week. They’re still really new to me, so I’m still listening through their songs and seeing what album I should buy (because they have a few). They have a sound that reminds me of The Smiths, New Order, Smashing Pumpkins,Velvet Underground… a kind of nostalgic sound. I like it! At the moment, I love the songs “Belong” and “Young Adult Friction”… see the fun little video below!

* Fever Ray. A few months ago, this Fever Ray album was one of the $5 Album deals… and I didn’t buy it. Instead, I listened to the samples and saved it on my list, but missed buying it cheap. Stupid! Because I’ve really been diggin’ on her sound. Very quirky, emotional and primal stuff. She’s a real cool artist! This song was featured in Red Riding Hood. I. Love. This. Song. (“I’m lying down eating snow/ my fur is hot and toes are cold…)

Thanks for listening! I could go on and on with this, because I’m kind of addicted to finding new music, but this is good for today. (Finding all those links is time consuming!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

