Ramble on and jump from topic to topic

Standard

I’m thinking about transitioning to a new blog. It’s because I want to go more public, and do some more lighthearted blogging again. My old blog, however, is in limbo because I can’t remember how to log in to it. Also, I’m sure that if he wanted to, X could still check it out and even though it has been over two years since the divorce, I’m still not crazy about the idea of him reading anything I write. It’s just a thing I have.

I’ll keep you posted about the new blog. I’m still keeping this one, though. It’s been really cool having something more like a diary again.

It’s been a long week, even though we had Monday off. There was just a lot going on, and feel wiped out. It’s odd because I am sleeping through the night pretty well, but I wake up completely tired and never even close to being ready to get out of bed. I’m trying to go to bed an hour earlier each night, but so far I can’t seem to do it. I’m wide awake at 10pm. Even if I have had no caffeine, or anything to eat. I think I’m simply just more of a night person. It sucks to have to follow a day-person’s schedule, though. My mornings are usually a complete waste. I don’t kick into gear and get busy until the afternoon.

This weekend should be really good. I can’t remember if I made plans for tonight or not (which means I probably did NOT), but that’s just fine. Tomorrow night I’m hanging out with my sister, BIL and two good friends. We’re taking them to a secret location for good times and frivolity. I can’t wait. Sunday is the Oscars… the first Oscars that has me psyched! Even though I haven’t seen very many of the movies this year, we all know I’m tuning in for the hosts.

Simon is all better. He’s eating and eliminating again like nothing happened, and I’m sure he’ll gain the weight he lost back in a week or so, at the rate he’s going. He’s returned to jumping on my bedroom dresser and knocking stuff on the floor when I am lying in bed, hitting the snooze button. It annoys the hell out of me, but I’m grateful he is well enough to be a pain in the ass again! Last night I was home, watching TV and organizing some of my paperwork in the office, and he was right there with me the whole night. He seemed very cuddly and sweet. I like to think he is saying thank you to me for helping him feel better. In reality, I’m sure he was just curling up for warmth or because he is hoping I’d give him a treat.

I was happy to hear that Two and a Half Men has been shut down for the rest of the season. Charlie Sheen is an ass. He doesn’t deserve to make that kind of money, that ungrateful, unrepentent prick. And the show itself was lame. Anytime we can cut a lame, laugh-track-heavy sitcom from the airways, it’s a good thing, in my book. Now if we can just kill American Idol

Sometimes I hate making eye contact with certain people I work with. Because when I do, it seems to invite conversation and the conversation is never interesting or fun in any way. Certain people will stop in their tracks if I happen to make eye contact, and come back to start yappin’ to me. I say “to me” and not “with me” because these people are also very self-centered and really only want to blab about themselves. I hardly say anything in these ‘exchanges.’ I just nod and wait for it to be over. I’m getting better at actively ending these conversations, however. No reason I should waste my time and listening-energy on lame crap and lame people.

I’m currently enjoying some good hair days. Ever since I got my haircut two weeks ago, it’s been so much better. And then last weekend, I colored my hair (dark brown) and it feels great. I also bought some thickening hairspray that does seem to do the trick. My hair feels a lot fuller. It’s funny how “good hair” can make such a difference in my own self-opinion. Whatever works, though! I’ll take it and make the most of it. I feel better walking around in the world and letting people look at me. I don’t want to hide/blend in as much as I usually do. It’s nice.

I am the slowest reader of books. And magazines, to be honest. I read everything. I haven’t quite learned how to skip articles that I don’t care about. Isn’t that stupid? Anyway, I hope to finish reading the book I’ve been reading for about a month now, this weekend. Last weekend, I bought a new batch of books at the Borders that’s going out of business. And I still have at least 35 books at home that I have NOT read yet. (Yes, I have counted. Or attempted to. I’m not done yet.) I wish I didn’t love buying books as much as I do! But they really are my favorite thing to purchase for some reason. Next to lunch, that is.

I’m hungry. I should go to lunch now. I hope you are having an excellent Friday, wherever you are, and that you’re keepin’ yer nose clean, kid. Take it easy.

2 responses »

  1. SO glad Simon is all better! And I do believe he was thanking you. 🙂

    I wish we could all stop talking about Charlie Sheen. Really. Now please. Stop giving that ass any more attention. And yes, let’s get rid of American Idol. Then I would be happy.

    I need to do something with my hair. It is so long and unruly. I do believe another big cut is coming!

Leave a Reply

