Day 7: A photo that makes me smile

Standard

That’s my sister and my dog, Sam, on Halloween in 1995. I like this picture because of what’s in it: My sister, who is my best friend; Sam, who was one hell of an awesome dog, and it was Halloween. The pumpkins we carved that year were cute. But behind the scenes, this was a very difficult Halloween.

1995 was, in general, one of the worst years possible. First our Granny died in April. Dad moved out that spring because my parents were on their way to divorce; we sold the family home and me, Mom and T moved into a condo. But the worst was yet to come in October.

See, when this photo was taken, my Pop-Pop had just died, on October 21. It was such a hard time. But Halloween came along, and we’re a resilient family, so we did our best and enjoyed the holiday. I remember it was a warm night, but beautiful for NJ. We sat on the porch with that Grainger box, which was full of candy, and had a good time with the trick or treaters and watching how happy the little kids were when they were petting Sam. We were smiley, and it was one of the best nights we had since the tragedy.

This kind of personifies our ability to find the fun in the midst of the shit life throws at us. Hell, even Sam was smiling. I’m so lucky to have such an amazing family. Especially my sister. I’m not sure where I would be without her. We’ve been through so much, and it only strengthened our friendship. And she can make me laugh more than any other person on the planet… it’s so cool to have so much fun with one’s sister. I know lots of sisters who are not as close as we are, so I know this is a blessing not everyone has. So I appreciate it, and thank God for this, every day.

I have a lot of photos that make me smile. This was just the best one saved on this computer! I could do this particular challenge every day until you all get sick and tired of me and my happyhappyjoyjoy pictures. 😉

3 responses »

  1. This picture and the story attached to it made me smile, made me happy. I love how you, as a family, took a horrible situation and made it into a beautiful memory. That is what is so great about true family. 🙂

  2. I’m glad you were able to rely on each other and find something good amidst all the bad. I love hearing about your great relationship with your sister. You’re right; it is such a rare (and beautiful) thing.

Leave a Reply

