Day 5: My favorite quote

Standard

“Hey, you come from nothing, you go back to nothing. So what have ya lost? Nothing!”

That is my favorite quote. I think. Again, it’s hard to say, because there are tons of things people have said, lines I like from books, lines from movies, and even things teachers have said over the years, but this one seems like it always resonates.

It’s from the song “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life” from The Life of Brian. I love the whole song, and it does cheer me up if I am feeling like everything really, really sucks.

Let’s face it. Life sucks. But that doesn’t mean you can’t make the best of it!

“Life’s a piece a’ shit/ When you look at it/ Life’s a laugh, and death’s a joke, it’s true…you’ll see it’s all a show, keep ’em laughin’ as you go/ Just remember that the last laugh is on you!”

I used the “come from nothing-go back to nothing” quote as one of my senior quotes in the 12th grade yearbook, in fact. I like it. It puts stuff into perspective. It reminds me that I have nothing to lose by trying something new…by making an effort to make my life better. Even if I fail and end up with “nothing” to show for it, at least I did something. And it’s not like failures add up and matter in the end.

It all equals out.

So smile, laugh, whistle, enjoy yourself. Shit happens, but who cares? You can ALWAYS laugh at something.

And if you can laugh in the face of death, then… well, I think you’ve got it. I think a person who can honestly not fear death has probably figured out the elusive meaning of life. Which, not ironically, is a name of another great Monty Python movie.

Those Brits were on to something, I’m telling you.

It’s all in your perspective. After all, think of the weird old man in the scene where the Roman centurions are raiding the house where the People’s Front of Judea are meeting and John Cleese as a centurion says, “Do you know what the penalty for harboring criminal activity is? Crucifixion!”

The old guy at the door shrugs. “Eh. That’s not so bad!”

Centurion: “Not so bad?!! It’s a slow, painful death, it takes DAYS!”

Old guy: “Well, at least it gets you out in the air.”

Heh. Great movie. Smart movie.

(My favorite quote’s near the end, at around 3:15 of this clip.)

5 responses »

  1. I have never seen this movie but I have heard that quote. It does put things into perspective and make all this crap we go through and try to procure throughout life really meaningless. Because you can’t take it with you. Great quote!

  2. First Knight SUCKED! A Knight’s Tale is good, though. Plus, it has Alan Tudyk.

    I have to go to bed. I’m just having fun with these posts lately! I’m glad a bunch of you guys are doing it, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

