Waiting for a response

Standard

So, I finished my first draft of a script for that web series project, and sent it off to the guy in charge yesterday. I haven’t heard from him yet, though, and I wonder if he hates it. It’s totally possible that I didn’t capture the tone and type of comedy he is looking for. My interpretation of something could be completely 180 degrees away from his, and that’s fine. But I just want to KNOW. If I’m not the writer he wants to work with, that’ll be OK. I simply can’t stand this waiting part. I’m so impatient.

I really am one of the most impatient people I know. I need instant gratification. It’s so silly, because I know I’m doing it every time, and yet I keep on doing it! For example, last week I read “The Hunger Games” and I looooved it. I wanted the sequel right away. But, I didn’t get paid until Friday. No matter. On my lunch hour, I went to Target to get detergent (with a coupon, oh, frugal me!) and couldn’t help buying “Catching Fire” for $12. I just found myself walking to the book section, right to the spot where I knew it would be, grabbed a copy and went straight for the checkout. It was like I was on autopilot or something. And now, it’s Sunday, and would you believe I haven’t started reading it yet?!

Reason: I was doing other things. But at least knowing I had the book right there made me feel better.

Instant gratification is my enemy when it comes to weight loss. I’m completely aware of how long it takes to lose weight in a healthy manner and yet, my id just yells and hollers against it. And then my id makes me go buy some bad food. And sit in front of the computer for hours and hours. I need some kind of pill that blocks the id.

Well, anyway. I should go get some stuff done around here. This place is a mess. I haven’t vacuumed all week and it shows. Lately, Simon’s new game is to take pieces of Hurley’s food and bat them all over the place. I’m so sick of finding dog food in the living room, the hallway, the laundry room, the bathroom… it’s a wonder we don’t have bugs everywhere. Sigh.

I hope I hear from this guy today. I just want to know how I did!!!

And if he decides not to use me as their writer, I’m still happy. I now have what I think is a decent script that can be used to help me do other things, such as write the long-gestating comedy script my sister and I have been talking about for the last 10 years. Or get a job with certain idols of mine, if I’m really, really lucky. Heh. We shall see.

Have a good Sunday, and don’t let them see ya sweat. (I don’t know why I said that just now, but I’m leaving it. It IS summer and it’s pukingly hot out there, so yes… deodorant is a smart choice.)

5 responses »

  1. Maybe he just tries to make it a practice not to do work-related things on weekends. Maybe he’s out-of-town, or busy and hasn’t checked his email, hasn’t even read it or had time to read it yet.

    Hang in there!

    😉

  2. I am sure he will call you soon with rave reviews. I have a good feeling about this. 🙂

    P.S. I am the same way about instant gratification. If I find an actor or author I like for example, I have to have everything ever done by them right away! And then I forget about them after. 🙂

  3. I heard back from him, and he did like what I wrote. Yay! However, it’s too far along on the story… I have to go back and write two episodes that take place before this one. (I jumped right into the middle of the storyline with the first scene.)
    Overall, it’s going good so far. I’m a little worried about making time to do all this extra writing work, but it’ll be fine. Now that I’m starting to get the hang of it, it shouldn’t take as long to write.
    I’m glad to hear you ladies have a good feeling about this… that’s very cool!! Thank you for the encouragement. Now I have to make sure I do ya proud and don’t disappoint you with the final product! 🙂

Leave a Reply

