Addle my brain, O LOST.

Standard

This week has been interesting, because I’ve been very busy at work and totally pre-occupied with some related business with an open position at my company, sooo… yeah. I’m very excited for this week to be over, actually. I don’t like feeling uncomfortable or unsettled.

On the homefront, last night BIL and my sister took me to Wal-Mart (yee HAW) to get a 16-foot ladder, so that I can paint the dining room myself. I just hope 16-feet is high enough for those walls. It’s one honey of a vaulted ceiling I got in there, pal.

I can also get brave and go up on my roof, too, now that I have the equipment. Not that I will be going up on the roof anytime soon, because that would be dangerous and stupid. But it’s good to know that if I did HAVE TO go up on the roof, I can do it. You never know. Could be candy and valuable prizes up there. (!!!)

The landscaper begins work on my yard on Saturday, and I’m so excited about it. Next week I have two different contractors coming out to give me bids to replace the RV gate and build me a cover for the back patio. I’m just really glad to be getting the process underway, finally. It’s a good feeling, because that stuff is just always in the back of my mind, every day.

I’ve been really obsessed with LOST this week, too. I mean, I love that show every week, and will spend some time trying to decode what’s going on, just for the fun of it. And I simply adore Fraulein N‘s recaps… so hilarious, and so dead-on. The thing with this week was that I got obsessed over FakeLocke talking about his “crazy mother” and it set me off on a trajectory to research crazy mothers in mythology and religion. Lilith is my first thought, the one that popped into my head as I watched the show on Tuesday. So I began reading about Lilith in all the different cultural stories and legends… this led to me reading all kinds of interpretations of the story of Lucifer being cast out of heaven… and then today, I ended up seeking out all kinds of stuff about Apollonian and Dionysian legends, because it could be that Jacob is “Apollo” and the Man In Black is “Dionysus” and they both represent the two halves of men’s souls. I’ve made myself nuts with all the stuff swirling around in my head (I won’t even get into the Buddhist and Hinduist stuff!) so I won’t get into it here, too. But the thing about this show that occured to me today is: I love how it makes me want to learn again.

I love this shit. I love reading all this information, letting my brain crawl all around the place and draw conclusions, cancel out conclusions, make new ones, go off on new paths, etc… It’s just so much fun for me. I have a list of philosophers I want to read more about. Different novels that have somehow been tied to the show, religious texts I want to take a look at some time when I have quiet time to just sit and think. It’s so very rare when a show can inspire this kind of passion for thinking it out, you know? I think that this is the number one reason why I love it so, so much.

And this is probably why I don’t get mad when answers aren’t revealed. I haven’t been able to explain why I don’t mind that they keep on throwing more crap onto the fire without solving older mysteries. I just say, “I’m along for the ride. I don’t care where it goes.” This is true. I am along for the ride, wherever it’s going. Because the ride itself is frickin’ COOL for my little brain! I want to see if I end up correct in any of my theories/assumptions, or not. I can’t wait. And I am going to miss this show so much when it is over.

OK, time to go home for the day. I just wanted to get some stuff out of my head and now that I have done that, well… there isn’t anything else for me to do here on this particular post.

So…fare thee well! Buh-bye! See ya ’round.

4 responses »

  1. the creepy part of lilith/lucifer is that the dude that plays jacob on Lost is the same guy playing lucifer on supernatural.

  2. Dot: I KNOW!!! Isn’t that crazy???? Coincidence?

    I am loving Lost and I too am just going along for the ride. Because since I know there are so many limited episodes left I know things will be explained soon. Maybe not completely, but enough to be satisfied.

    I rewatched this weeks episode just to see Sawyer shirtless again. It’s been so long!! 🙂

  3. Ahhhh… I know, I can’t delete this new episode from the DVR…too beautiful. Josh Holloway is really, really, rillllly hot as hell. As Trish reminded me, in this episode, he is a Hot Cop. (Arrested Development reference, for those of you not cool enough to get it, hee hee hee! That’s me telling you to watch that show already, damn it!)

  4. And here I am telling people to watch a show, when I myself haven’t watched the one you guys are talking about. I have never seen an episode of Supernatural, although I have read good things.

Leave a Reply

