Branding myself (not the kind with the hot iron)

Standard

Today I finally registered my web domain. I’ve had a URL for a few years now, actually… and I never did anything with it. Talk about a waste of money. At least it only came to about $35 that I wasted, but still. Anyway, the old domain was my old, married name. Today I registered one that is my full name. MY name. The name I swear I’m going to keep for the rest of my life, even if I get married again.

Now I just have to design the site, get content that I want to place up there, and begin the process of marketing it in some way. I intend to use this site as a kind of living portfolio of my writing… both for work, and for fun. I have a lot of stuff published, actually, after being in this business for over 10 years now. It would be cool to link some of it up in one place and share it, have it ready in case I decide to go into freelance writing on the side or something like that.

And I want to push my books. Publish an excerpt or two, as well as teaser “jacket” copy. I’d also like to publish a couple of my short stories and poems in their entirety. So yes, one thing I need to find out about is copyrighting my original stuff. (I can’t do that with the work-articles, since they are already copyrighted.) I don’t know if a creative common copyright is enough on the site, or if I will need to go a step further.

Either way, I feel a sense of relief somehow, because I have had “update web domain” on my to-do list for well over a month now, and I kept putting it off because I didn’t feel like spending the time on the phone. I am so lame.

I need to make this year great for myself. I need to put myself first, and stop treating myself like a second-class citizen. I’m going to spend time and effort on my mental and physical health, and I am going to kick my own ass into writing on a regular, perhaps scheduled, basis. I have goals that I continue to ignore for the most part, and this has to STOP now. I need to work towards those goals, and remember that the word “work” is part of this sentence. I can’t let myself give up, take shortcuts, or procrastinate. Nothing’s ever going to change for the better if I do that. I have to DO things. Stop being a person with great intentions already! Instead, be a person of great accomplishments.

I have to get back to work now, especially since I am leaving early to go to my hand therapy appointment. I just wanted to get this thought out and record it somewhere that will be easy for me to look at over and over again. Maybe now I can focus on what I have to do for work.

Oooh, look! Something shiny!

3 responses »

  1. I can’t wait to see how it all comes out! I am sure it is going to be amazing. And now I’ll have a place I can direct people to when I tell them about my incredible writer friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

