A whole year

Standard

Just a quick note to commemorate something I only just realized: Today marks one full year since our divorce was finalized.

Crazy, huh? It feels like the year went by very quickly. And at the same time, it feels like, “it’s only been ONE year?!” because of how much better I feel about where my life is heading now. Everything really is better, happier and more fun now. Even though I have depression from time to time… I can still recognize every little positive thing that I have in my life now that I didn’t have while I was with him.

Divorce? It was a good call. For us. It meant moving on and growing healthy again.

5 responses »

  1. Wow!
    I can’t believe it’s been a year, either! and what a wild year you have had!
    I definitely agree, you have grown and are healthier. I can tell you are happier and free-er to be YOU again. May all things continue for you in this vein.

  2. Congratulations. It’s a good feeling isn’t it? Every December 15th I grin to myself and am extremely grateful that I extricated myself from that situation. Good for you! Good for us!

  3. Thank you so much! And yes, congratulations are appropriate. It’s funny, because I almost hate telling people I haven’t seen in awhile that “I got divorced,” since it seems to make people uncomfortable and they expect me to be all down about it or something. I always end up saying, “Oh, no, it was a GOOD thing, Trust me.”

    Life turns out so different than you’d ever expect. Both my marriage and my divorce changed my viewpoint regarding both of those events, in general. Marriages don’t always work for the best, and divorces don’t have to suck.

Leave a Reply

