I can has sensory deprivation tank?!?

Standard

During the night, one of the pets shut my bedroom door. Who did it? I don’t know, but my money is on Simon. There is nothing in the house that he doesn’t touch, everyday. He loves spaces under doors and appliances, so I bet he was sitting there at my bedroom door, messing with it, and managed to push it closed. I don’t know how the sound of it closing didn’t wake me up, since I’m a light sleeper. What DID wake me up was a cat furiously chasing his own tail right on my head this morning while it was still dark outside, and a dog jumping up and down on the other side of the bed out of excitement as he watched his lil’ cat-buddy go, go, go!

I jumped up and yelled, “TWO MORONS!” and shoved them both off the bed. I fell back to sleep right away. I woke up only about 15 minutes later to a weird crunchy sound, again near my head. Simon was sitting on the other pillow, gnawing on a piece of Hurley’s rawhide. He looked at me with one smug eye as he chewed, as if he were thinking: “Check me out, I’ve got HIS bone and I’m eating it by YOUR face. I totally rule this room right now.”

Mornings like this make me want to punch those guys. Out of love, of course.

Besides… what cat eats rawhides? What cat plays with the dog’s toys and chases tennis balls across the kitchen? Mine. (And I absolutely love it even though I pretend to be surprised by the weirdness.)

At least I got to work about an hour earlier than usual today, so that’s cool. I actually need to leave a little early because Sears is delivering the pedestals for my washer and dryer, and they’ll be there sometime between 3 and 5. I’m glad it’s only a two-hour window, because it could be a lot worse.

My to-do list right now is freakin’ ginormous. At work, for sure, but in my outside life it’s a crazy time. This is the last weekend I have to get packed up before I move, since I plan to move during the weekend of September 25. I’ll be in NJ next weekend… so there is a lot to do. It’s still tricky because I don’t want to pack anything I am still using, but I’ve reached a point where I have to just pack anyway. I don’t want to be a big ball of last-minute-packing stress during the weekend I move, if I can help it. So that will mean getting serious about things this weekend. In a way, I’m looking forward to it because it means I’m really and truly moving forward with my life. The limbo of the past six months or whatever it’s been has been so lame. I’d gotten so used to it that in some ways it’s still weird to think that it’s really going to happen and I will be moving out of that house soon.

In preparation for the trip, I spent some time yesterday talking with my best friend about the schedule while I’m there… and it’s so sad because I know it’s going to be the fastest 5 days (I’m not counting the travel days). I hope I get to see everyone enough and do all the things I want to do. I still would love to have a couple of hours to spend all by myself, walking in the woods or on the beach. I really want some peace and quiet, some time to think and relax. I’m not sure I can manage it, but I need to try.

As excited as I am to go back to NJ and be with the people I love again, I also know that I will come home feeling completely exhausted. My vacations never feel restful. I almost hesitate to call them vacations, really. One of these days, I need to wise up and take a REAL vacation to a place completely remote and peaceful, with no social obligations or possibilities. I don’t know how I could do it. But some part of me knows intrinsically that I NEED to do this. I need to really shut my brain down and just smell the damn roses for once.

Maybe I’m only thinking about this so much because of all the chaos I am leaving behind for 7 days; the same chaos that will meet me right away when I land back in AZ again. It’s not the most opportune time to be going away, given the house situation and how I am trying so incredibly hard to catch up and get ahead at work right now, but I didn’t know it would be like this when we bought our tickets. It seemed, at the time, that I’d already be living in the new house and I would have caught up with all my work. Oh, well. The best-laid plans, my friends…you know what they say about the best-laid plans.

Oh my gosh. I just got an email from ANOTHER person I have been trying to interview for my current problem article, and they, too, are bailing out! Everyone has valid reasons, and they are being so apologetic about it, but this is just incredibly frustrating!! I swear that I am doing everything I can to handle these interview requests correctly so that I get results. I’ve even reached out to other people in the company to help me, admitting that I could really use their assistance in getting in the door with some of these executives. It’s worked, in that regard… at least this latest round of people are returning my calls and emails. But OH. MY. GOD… enough of this already! When the hell is this going to stop being so frickin’ hard? I know I sound like I’m not taking responsibility for my own challenges when I say this, but there isn’t much of an explanation for all of this other than I seem to be having a streak of genuinely bad luck. I don’t want this, I HATE this, and want it to go back to being a little easier again.

On the positive side, I did get one person to commit to talking with me. He wants to do the phone interview over the weekend though. That should be fun.

I also found someone to petsit Hurley while I’m away. One of my co-workers offered to take him in, so tomorrow morning we are meeting the park near her house so Hurley can meet her two brittany spaniels and we can determine if everyone will get along. I can’t imagine that they wouldn’t! Her dogs sound just as sweet and intelligent as my little guy. It should be fun to do this tomorrow, actually. I’m looking forward to it and I’m so deeply grateful for the favor. (My friend R is taking Simon in for the week… he will be absolutely fine and she’ll have a blast getting lots of quality kitteh-time in.)

Well, I guess it’s time to wrap this up and get back to work. I guess I just needed to stop and take this breath before I dive back into this crap article. Thanks, blog. I don’t know what I’d do with you.

(Oh, one more completely unrelated thing: how poignant was it that they replayed the season one finale of “Fringe” last night… right on the eve of September 11? That final shot was a great story twist back in May, but seeing it again right now almost brought tears to my eyes. I’m so glad it’s coming back next week. I can’t wait.)

2 responses »

  1. I am starting to think I shouldn’t have bailed on Fringe. But after four episodes I wasn’t into it. Maybe I should get the DVDs and catch up? But they moved it to Thursdays and EVERYTHING I watch is on Thursdays. I have no more room to record anything. 🙂

    Your first paragraph made me laugh so hard. I can totally relate to the nighttime antics. I swear my cats sleep all day JUST to keep us up all night with wrestling and playtime.

    I feel the same way about my vacations. While I love going to see everyone and it is awesome to catch up I am always exhausted when I return. Worn out from all the running around and activities. I think the only time I ever truly had a real vacation where I was relaxed was on our honeymoon because we lazed around and did nothign. But after all the frantic wedding palnning etc we really needed it. 🙂

  2. “a cat furiously chasing his own tail right on my head this morning while it was still dark outside, and a dog jumping up and down on the other side of the bed out of excitement as he watched his lil’ cat-buddy go, go, go!” I know it wasn’t hilarious when it happened to you, but damn if I’m not going to be laughing at this all. day. long. Hee.

    Oh, and VP, you need to be watching Fringe! It’s awesome. I can pretty much guarantee that if you make it through Season 1 you’ll be hooked.

Leave a Reply

