I really CAN has house!

Standard

Amazing!

I closed on my house today! I finally feel OK calling it “my house” rather than “the house” because now that I signed all the papers and paid the closing costs, it really is true. Nothing’s going to happen now to make this thing fall through! What a great feeling.

Of course, I find out later in the day that the real closing is actually Monday, 7/27. Huh? Whazzat? I mean, I just sat at a title company with a notary and signed everything. However, some kind of descrepancy with the dating on the paperwork means the thing technically closes Monday, and I really am all done with what I needed to do. I just need to wait until Monday to get the keys and switch the electric over to my name. No big deal, really. It’s just one more sign of how (sigh) STUPID the people involved in this whole thing have been. A lot of airheads. I think my realtor was the one who made the initial mistake with the date on the paperwork; and then my broker made the kind-of huge mistake of telling me my closing costs were $6,300. Remember I was freaking out, wondering how I was going to cover it? Turns out– the closing costs today were actually $4,241. Much closer to the $4,000 I had been anticipating all along. She apparently forgot to deduct fees that the SELLER was paying for. Gee, thanks for making me actually cry out of fear and frustration a few days ago. I did feel amazing as I drove away from the closing, knowing I paid less than I expected. I feel so positive about it I don’t even feel like bitching her out or making her feel guilty. Whatever… my stuff with her is done now anyway.

So, from here, I have to meet with the contractors and go over all the details so they can begin placing orders for everything, and start giving me timelines as to when everything will get done. I still want to move in only after the popcorn ceilings are down, and preferably after the new carpet and laminate is down, too. I figure I can actually move in before the kitchen is finished because there’s a huge pantry in this house and I can store the essentials in there for the time being and just not unpack the majority of it until everything’s done. Besides, I’m not exactly the world’s most active cook. As long as the fridge and the microwave are plugged in, that’s all I need.

So it all begins for real now. It’s very cool. I can’t wait to know what my moving date will be, finally. I can start changing my address on everything within the next couple of days or so. I almost believed that this day would never really come (tears up). 🙂

In other news, I want to make it clear that there is nothing really going on with S and I. I mean, we had a fun time when he was here on vacation, and we are still having fun talking and emailing and stuff, but honestly… that’s all it is. I missed him a lot after he left, yeah. That’s gonna happen when you have fun with someone! But I am certainly NOT thinking about what could happen down the road, if there is even a road. It’s just not happening right now. When I was talking about my cold feet in relation to the house purchase, and that I worried if I wanted to live with someone in the future, what would it mean…I didn’t mean S. It could be anyone, and it could be 5, 10 years from now, too! Or, it could even be a kid I adopt. I’m serious. I do think about that sort of thing, now that I do have an extra bedroom… but could I afford to raise a kid alone? Not with a mortgage, I’m afraid. Not right now. Again, I could make myself nuts just imagining the myriad of possibilities. And I have to just stop doing that. Tonight, being a good night, I’m not worrying about any of it at all. I’m grateful for this no-worrying-mode!

I also need to make a move with Olive, if I’m gonna do it. I need to update the flyer I’d made back in January, and give it to a couple of people I trust to distribute. My sister’s maintenance guy is awesome, and he loves animals… and he lives in a 55+ senior community that allows pets. So he’s my main collaborator in this mission. Plus, he knows her personally and is willing to put his phone number on the flyer, too, so if his neighbors want to talk to him directly, they can. Now all I need to do is definitively TRY. But I don’t wanna! Wahhh. It’s so hard to really pull the trigger on this. Ugh. More and more people are encouraging me to do it, though. The feeling does seem to be that while this is, like, a B home; an A home is waiting for her right now. But hell, if no A home really materializes, then she can just stay. Whatever.

I should go to bed now; and in the morning, wake up to my first full day of not worrying anymore about my house. Fantasticness!

Here’s Simon in the sink.

2009_0722SimonInSink0005

2009_0722SimonInSink0007

6 responses »

  1. Congrats on the house. Nice to see a “happy dance of joy” post! 🙂 You should do that with T- like Balki and Larry.

    So, when Simon is in the sink like that- does he touch the water and then flick his paw to get the water off? Man, that’s cute! He’s gotten so big already. He almost looks like an adult cat.

  2. Also, I wanted to say sorry I misunderstood you about the cold feet with the house. I just took it that way and wanted to assure you that you could totally do it, regarding the house. And you DID! Yay! Glad you cleared it up and now I (and everyone else) knows this.

  3. I am so behind with everyone’s blogs I am going to have to go back and read up about Olive and S and everything because I have no idea what you are talking about. And I normally would read them all in order, but I had to stop at this one first because I knew through FB you got the house yesterday and am so very excited for you!! Can’t wait to see all the changes you are making and for you to move in. And if you need any help in September if we come to visit my brother then we will be more than happy to assist! YAY!!! 🙂

  4. Hooray! Congratulations on getting YOUR house 🙂

    I’m very, very glad for you. And listen, buying a home is a big enough step toward “the FUTURE” (scary voice) that it’s plenty for you to concentrate on for right now!

Leave a Reply

