Hailie

Standard

I’ve very sad to report that yesterday, Hailie (the dog X and I had, along with Indy) passed away very suddenly. She was sick throughout the night and in the morning X found her in the kitchen, unable to move. He rushed her to the vet, where they started to do tests and give her IV fluids to determine what was wrong with her, but she didn’t make it through the day. They did a quick autopsy to try to see what happened, and they think it was pancreatitis with some sort of leak of fluids (I’m hazy on the details) and there wasn’t anything they could have done.

I actually spoke to X late yesterday afternoon, b/c he texted me and said he needed to tell me something right away and it would be better to talk about it. So I called him, hesitantly. And when he told me, I just broke down. She was really such a great dog. She was X’s Hurley equivalent; they were really close. I did love her so much, too. And as you all know, leaving the dogs was one of the absolute hardest things about leaving X last summer. The last time I saw her was a week or so after I’d moved out, and I came back to the house for something, and she and Indy both squealed and got incredibly playful when I showed up. Hailie brought me one of her toys, her tail wagging. (I cried at that.) She was so sweet, so fantastic about little kids, and she was absolutely devoted to her Indy.

It was weird as hell talking to X again, but also, it wasn’t so bad in this case. I am glad he told me about it, and in some ways, I’m glad he got to talk to me about it, too, because it sounds like there is no one in his life right now that he can share this grief with. His ‘best’ friend, a dude I never really liked name R, apparently hasn’t spoken to X “since April” because, as X puts it, “he had no time for me anymore.” Anyway, X was sobbing to the point where I could barely make out what he was saying at times. He’s definitely going to be in a lot of pain for awhile over this. Poor Hailie. At least it was only a day of pain for her and not weeks and weeks, I guess. It’s just so damn sad when this shit happens to animals, so suddenly.

I just wanted to memorialize Hailie by posting this, and saying she truly was a wonderful little girl. I loved her very much, and so did a lot of people. Rest in peace, Hailiebug. You were a great dog.

Hailie cute

Flee 1

Cowboy hat3

8 responses »

  1. Aw Lisa, I’m so, so, so sorry. I know how much you loved her. Sending hugs your way, darlin.

  2. Lisa, that is such sad news. The pictures made me tear up especially that last pic of you and she. I remember her being such a nice dog; definitely a Hurley equivalent. I am sorry for your loss. :*(

  3. Oh, honey. What a terrible, horrible thing! Poor girl. She really was a beauty, inside and out. I bet Malcolm was overjoyed to see her, though!

  4. I wish I could say something more than I’m sorry, but I’m sorry for your loss. Hugs, dear.

  5. Nothing I can say will ease your pain, but know that you are not alone. I’m so sorry for your loss. R.I.P. Hailie.

  6. I am so sorry. And I’m sorry for X too. The loss of a pet is so acute, it is a loss of a family member loved dearly. She looks like a fabulous friend. I bet she and Malcolm are running together, happy to be together again.

Leave a Reply

