Olive’s sick. :(

Standard

I just got back from the vet. This morning, I had to run out to the new house to let a contractor in so we could get some more estimates. When I got home, Olive didn’t meet me at the door with Hurley like she always does. Instead, she was lying up against the wall under the table, not moving. I go over to see her and there is blood ALL over her backside and the tile. Her nose was hot, and her breathing was labored.

Luckily I got her right into the vet immediately. Glad the vet is literally within walking distance, because I got her over there in under 5 minutes. They determined it was in fact coming from her vulva, but there was no clear reason why. They did an abdominal X-ray or two, but everything looked relatively normal in there. So they are doing a full range of blood tests because it could be anything from a blood-clotting disorder to… I can’t remember at the moment. It was just such a blur. Either way, I know tomorrow when the results come back.

Right now she is out in the kitchen again, on the tile where she is most comfortable, sleeping. Hurley is sitting with her, keeping her company. He’s doing his usual Awesome Dog thing again. I just have to keep an eye on her, of course, to make sure she isn’t bleeding out too much (at the moment, her gums look nice and pink so that’s great) or having any other trouble. Good thing I am home today! If it had been a regular work day, I wouldn’t have come home until after 4pm and she would have been lying there bleeding for god knows how long. Shudder. Scary stuff.

Today cost $448. Which, of course, I don’t have. I mean, I do, and did…but there goes any and all spending money until the end of the month. It’s going to be a ramen-filled couple of weeks. (I won’t actually eat ramen; I just say that because it’s become a standard cliche phrase for when you have to eat on the cheap.) It turns out it’s a good thing that DFMP isn’t here right now! Not only would it be a pain to deal with sick Olive while someone is staying with me, but I wouldn’t have money to do much of anything.

Luckily, he can get credit for the flights because he has proof he was in the hospital. So as soon as he is up to it, and it will work out with my house-stuff and everything, he wants to re-schedule. Excellent. Now I just hope nothing else weird, dramatic or even vaguely exciting happens for awhile. No more mysterious illnesses…for him OR Olive. Sheesh.

8 responses »

  1. All I can say, if you don’t mind me saying it is, “HOLY SHIT”! That sums up how I feel right now between the previous post about DFYP and poor Olive. Oh my goodness! I am very sorry to hear about that poor dog of yours; it’s one thing after another which is probably very stressful on you both. Keep us posted.

    P.S. I hate ramen noodles as well. They are too salty! πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh my goodness! It is just one thing after another with you. 😦 I hope that Olive is okay. That must have been scary finding her all covered in blood like that. I know I would have been freaking out. Do they think, and I know this is stretching it because Hurley is fixed, but stranger things have happened, maybe she had a miscarriage? I can’t think of anything else that would cause that to happen to her. Poor baby.

    But small yay for DFMP (I have to ask why naynay calls him DFYP) wanting to reschedule his trip. I knew he would!

    P.S. Did you get my package? Hoping it brightened a bad day. πŸ™‚

  3. Hi guys. So far tonight, she is doing a little better. The bleeding finally seems to have subsided. I was worried because by 5pm she was still actively bleeding. It’s been so gross. I feel awful for her. She must feel miserable. But I am hopeful that it won’t be anything serious when the vet calls tomorrow with the results of the bloodwork. She is, hands-down, my most expensive pet to date. Good thing she is really cute!

    I asked about the miscarriage thing and the vet doesn’t think it’s likely at all since she shows no other signs of pregnancy. So that’s good! (It could have also happened at the dog park when I wasn’t looking. Who knows?)

    And Vegas Princess– OMG, yes, I got your package!! I must seem like the biggest ass because I have yet to say thank you! I actually have been trying to get something out to you in return as a thank-you (a CD mix of my own) but I just can’t get the CD or DVD drives to work. Grrr. But I had another idea and will be getting it out to you maybe tomorrow. I know you aren’t expecting anything, etc., but it was really so nice to get the package. It just made my day. And woo hoo, the Veronicas! I hadn’t listened to them much before and I think I like! So thank you again, so much. πŸ™‚

  4. I call him DFYP because he’s from her past, not my past. πŸ™‚ So I call him “Dude From Your Past”. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh, and I meant to say, I have a DFMP too and hell no, he is NOT coming to visit me!

  6. I got it; DFYP makes sense!

    And really, most dudes from our pasts never *should* come visit us! Losers! They can stay right there in the past where they belong. πŸ˜‰

  7. Oh, Olive!!! I just read this now (I am so behind on my Google Reader it’s overwhelming). I hope she’s okay. I hate having my period, so I really feel for our girl there.

Leave a Reply

