Wrong side of the bed

Standard

I woke up in such a crummy mood this morning for some reason. And it’s still bothering me three hours or so later, which makes me angry. I’m going to have to find something hilarious to distract me and get me out of my funk. Otherwise, the day is going to be a little less nice than it could have been. But first, some blog-appropriate venting!

I have to get a few more insurance quotes for home and car insurance and I don’t wanna. It’s so time consuming to sit on the phone with these people, going over every little detail about the house (“Is it upgraded carpeting in the bedroom, like Berber, or is it just standard? Do you have smooth or popcorn ceilings? How big is the porch over the front door?” What? I don’t know, I don’t live there yet) and methodically taking away little dinky coverages that I don’t really need until we come up with a number that’s not totally offensive. I wasted 40 minutes doing one quote the other day, and I resent that because those were 40 of my precious peak-minutes in my 600 minutes-a-month plan. I want to do the quotes from my work phone, but always feel so self-conscious having anything even close to a personal phone call at my desk. I don’t like knowing my cube mates can easily overhear me, for some reason. So, BLAH. Whine #1: now complete. 

I’ve got a LOT of things to do between now and the closing, besides find insurance. This renovation loan thing could turn out to be a nightmare if everyone involved doesn’t cooperate at the same level of urgency. I’ve got to get bids for all the work I want to have done, so that I can give the list of estimated expenses to the FHA appraiser. And the appraisal will probably be happening next week or so. So far, I know some ballpark figures on how much the new vanities and sinks in the bathrooms will cost me, and the stove and dishwasher, but that’s it for the most part. I still need to price out windows, flooring, paint, kitchen countertops, etc…

The good news is my sister’s connections are 99% likely to come through for me in a BIG way. The maintenance supervisor for her company is our friend’s husband, and I talked with him yesterday about him getting the main contractor the company uses out there at my house to get all the work done for me in about a week’s time. (A lot of it is small stuff, so that wouldn’t take long, but he is talking getting the whole place painted and new floors installed, too! Basically, tackling not just my priority stuff but my wishlist stuff, too.) Ideally, it would all be finished and I could move into a relatively “new” house. This is all assuming that we 1) get the estimates/bids done in time; 2) the appraisal goes well and 3) the FHA accepts my requested loan amount. So at the moment, I am definitely pre-occupied and anxious about pulling this off. Can I do it? I sure hope so. I’ve never headed up an entire home renovation (for lack of a better word). I don’t want to pay more than I need to… but the great thing is, with the connection-factor going on, I should be getting an incredible deal on this work if we go with this contractor. But I hope I am not getting silly by doing all of this stuff at one time like this. It feels extravagant in some way. It’s like this: I come from a family that did almost all of its own home repairs and remodeling. I learned the spackle and sand sheetrock when I was about 11, and my father tore out walls in the upstairs of our house to build an entirely new bathroom from the floor up. That was a time consuming project, but little by little, we got it done. I also helped paint the exterior of that house alongside my Mom and Pop-Pop. I’m not used to thinking of these sort of projects as things that are done in a week’s time; that’s what I’m talking about. It feels a little too upper-classy to have workers come into your home and do the work you *could* do if you just put the effort out and took your time. (I’m not talking about specialized stuff, like plumbing and electrical overhauls… I mean, painting and switching out light fixtures, that kind of stuff.)

Anyway, everyone is assuring me that if I can get everything done at one time, for one loan amount, I should do it. That the money I’ll spend will be worth it because of all of my own time and effort will be saved. That I’ll be avoiding countless little annoyances and problems that come about when an amateur attempts to do the sort of things that other people are paid to do everyday, and they are experts at. So I’m sure I will somehow manage to get used to the idea! 🙂

I hope I can get back into the house, maybe this weekend, to measure everything with the contractor. I want to bring my sister in, too, to get her thoughts on what I could and should do. Last night we picked up a ton of color sample cards at Lowe’s so I can begin imagining color schemes and stuff. I trust her judgment. I also want to begin having all of the blanks under the “estimated cost” column on my Repairs/Remodeling spreadsheet filled in. I’ll feel so much better once it’s started.

I don’t want to be here at work today, I want to be doing this house stuff, and sleeping a little more. Maybe I should run away. 🙂

3 responses »

  1. You can do it! It’s al whole lot of extra craziness and hell now, but think about how great it’s going to be later when everything (or almost everything) is done.

  2. It sounds like a lot but I am sure everything can get done in time. And with how organized and detail-oriented you are they will ebe able to tackle your whole list. Sounds like you got a great contractor whic is a major hurdle. And you will have a beautiful new (to you) house! I am so excited for you!!

  3. Get outta yer crummy mood!!
    (Did that help?)

    “Screeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!”-Beyonce Knowles

Leave a Reply

