Long weekend

Standard

Our trip to Disneyland was so much fun! We drove out on Friday night after we all got home from work, and it was a non-eventful drive. Long, of course, but no problems, thank goodness. It was pretty hilarious when I passed my sister my new iPod Nano and told her to put it on for me (I was driving) because right before we left, I’d loaded it up with a ton of new music. She plugged it in and said, “Um, there’s only ONE song on here!” I was surprised, and told her maybe she was stuck in my “California Playlist” which had failed miserably when I tried to create it the night before… I still don’t understand how to do everything in iTunes; in fact, I am hating on the iTunes in a big way right now due to the unnecessary difficulties and steps it makes you go through (I am just so used to Creative’s system and resent that now I have to learn something new, bah). But no, she said that as she scrolled through there was only one song on the entire player.

Somehow I had deleted everything off of the iPod. I know I had lots of music on it previously, since I used it when I went bike riding the weekend before and then during last week in the car and stuff. The funny thing is, the one song that was on the iPod is one I can’t stand and don’t even know– I had to think about where it came from when it came on in the car Friday night, to peals of laughter from my sister. It turns out it’s from an Amazon free music sampler album I downloaded a week ago. So the one song I had was a crappy one. We couldn’t stop laughing at this for a long time.

Anyway, we got to our friend’s house in Anaheim Hills around 1 am and went to sleep right away. She has such a gorgeous place; a condo backing up to a nature preserve. So peaceful, green and pretty there. It would be an awesome place to live, and to write. I could have sat out on her back porch for hours if I had the time to do it.

The next morning was Disneyland. Yes, it was pricey, but it was worth it. I had so much fun with my sister and BIL. We have a great time hanging out together because we all have the same sense of humor and we pretty much like all the same stuff and have similar energy levels and moods. I don’t like doing trips like that with groups of people because other people annoy me. I hate to admit it, but I have little tolerance for most people once it gets to be a few hours in. A lot of people are particular, whiny, bossy, moody, self-righteous or just flat-out grating or annoying. I also can’t take it when people yap my ear off non-stop. I’m a slower person than that. I don’t move, think or talk on a fast level. I’m mellow. I realize now, as I get older, that I do tend to get stressed out around my more gregarious friends. It happened to me one time last week and I felt terrible that I was thinking such crappy thoughts about one of my good friends (the thought was “OK! Stop jumping around from subject to subject like that! Just shut the hell up already! GOD!”) but I think it’s fine to recognize what works and what doesn’t in your own personal communication style.

As I was saying, me, sis and BIL are all on the same page, mostly. They didn’t get on my nerves at all the whole time we were out there. I had a ton of fun with them in fact, and loved that we decided to do this trip. We all needed to get out of town, do something totally new and playful so we could get our minds off of house struggles, job stress and career decisions, etc. I wish I had more money to spend (and more money right now, because I had to transfer a couple hundred over from savings today to cover my ass until I get paid on Friday) but in the end, I have no regrets that I spent what I did this past weekend. It was worth it.

2009_0110DisneyTrip0048

We got back home around 9 or so on Sunday night. My friend who watched the dogs did a great job. I really missed my babies, though. I was so excited to walk through that door and see them again. They basically mauled me right there in the kitchen, and I loved it. I have such wonderful dogs, I really do. I’m so lucky to have found them.

There was an injured bird in the yard somewhere, according to a note my friend left me. She said the neighbors behind me had told her about it, and that her dogs were trying to get the bird. However, Hurley and Olive were just checking the bird out, not bothering it. In the morning, I went outside in the light and found the bird. It was still alive, but wasn’t in good shape. It was emaciated and walking funny. Hurley and Olive watched the whole scene as I brought the bird some water in a little bowl and some crushed up rice cereal (it was all I had on hand that would be even close to bird seed). If it had been in my yard for any length of time and couldn’t fly, it had no access to water or any good food source. I think if I didn’t get home when I did, it would have starved or dehydrated to death. I went online and found the number for the local bird rescue group and within a half an hour, I had the bird in a box and was driving it down to her house so she could save it. She said it seemed OK, just emaciated — it was so surreal, because she showed me its ribs. Its wings and legs were fine; it just had no energy to fly. Poor little thing. She thought it had a great chance at survival, though, so that was great news.

The entire situation shows me, yet again, what fabulous dogs I have. Given Hurley’s obsession with chasing birds and planes that fly over the yard, I would have thought that if he had a shot at a real-live bird, he might do something to hurt it due to natural instinct. But I guess not. The bird was completely unharmed outside of being weak. Even Olive, the more unknown factor in the dog equation around here, was very gentle, respectful and calm about the bird being there. She barely gave it a glance when she came outside that morning to go to the bathroom. I really love that neither of them wanted to hurt that bird, even though they had ample chance to do so if they wanted to. That’s really cool.

The rest of the day yesterday, Memorial Day, was very lazy. I came home from the bird lady’s house and went back to bed and didn’t wake up again until it was about 1pm. Wow. I guess I really needed some rest. I ended up meeting up with my Mom for dinner later on, and drove her past houses #5 and #6 so she could see them with her own eyes. She likes house #5 the best. That’s the one I’ve made the most progress on as of yet, so that’s cool.

As we were getting ready to pull out of the driveway, my Mom pointed and said, “What’s that little symbol on the house there?” On the wall of the front porch, sure enough, there was an oddly familiar emblem shining in the sun. My heart jumped in a very dorky way. “I think that’s the DHARMA symbol, Mom! From LOST!”

I jumped out of the car and took a photo of the symbol because, sure enough, it looked just like the DHARMA logo but with a mirror in the middle.

2009_0110DisneyTrip0053

What the hell…? If that’s what it really is, how awesome is THAT?! And maybe it’s a sign! Maybe this means this is actually the house that will come through for me. After all, LOST is my favorite show ever and I was just talking to my sister about wanting a DHARMA symbol sticker for my car if I can find one… this is just too cool a coincidence. I am really geeking out in a big way over it.

And now it’s Tuesday, the end of the day. I had hoped to hear something, anything, today, but didn’t. Oh well. Maybe tomorrow. I just have to get one of these houses. Preferably the lucky Dharma House (its new nickname, by the way). I can’t go on with this much longer. It’s definitely gone beyond ridiculous now.

I’m off to get some cleaning accomplished and then transcribe an interview for work. I have a lot of writing to do this week and I didn’t get nearly enough done today while telecommuting. Why am I such a slug these days? I feel crushingly lazy and unfocused. I hate feeling like a slacker. I’m gearing up to kick my own ass.

7 responses »

  1. You know I am totally feeling paranoid that I am the friend you are talking about because I TOTALLY talk fast and get excited and jump from topic to topic. Good thing we don’t talk a lot on the phone. 😉 Hope I didn’t drive you nuts. Sorry.

    Anyway, not much else to say other than glad you had fun and good luck with the Dharma house. I am rooting for you!

  2. OMG, it IS the Dharma logo!! It’s a sign, schwester! I think today is the day.
    Glad you had as good of a time as we did at Disneyland. It’s funny that I really didn’t bat an eye at spending all that money on my ticket, normally I would freak out about spending that much. But seriously, it’s the experience that is so worth it. If I have any regrets, it’s that I wish I had gone back on the Pirates ride again. There was no line when I walked past when you and K were on Thunder Mountain Railroad. Oh smell. Next tyme!
    Remind me to come over and teach you itunes. It’s easy, I swear to gawds.

  3. Naynay- I was talking about a friend I see in person. But anyway yes, thanks for the well-wishes on the Dharma house!! We gave them until 5:00pm TODAY to respond to my counteroffer. I am so nervous I want to puke a little. Blerp.

    Fraulein – Yeah, I think it’s a sign, too! It has to be. I know you of all people understand how awesomely cool this is to find a DHARMA symbol anywhere… Now if I find out there is a smoke monster in a hatch under the floor in the garage or something, that might not be as cool. But I have my fingers crossed it’s only the good stuff in that house.

    Moetricia – I was thinking about Pirates, too, and wishing we went on it one more time. I think it was my favorite ride, in retrospect. Next time we plan to ride it at least twice, for sure. And yes, today HAS TO BE THE DAY I hear something really good! I can’t take this anymore, I’m a-gonna snap! I brought my iPod and the USB cable to work today so maybe I can play around with iTunes later this afternoon. Let’s see how retarded I get with it *today*.

  4. The price of a one day ticket (for two parks–both Disneyland and California Adventure, which are right next to one another) was $94. Yeah…kinda spendy, but it turns out a fun, worthwhile expense! 🙂

  5. I want to go to Disneyland. I have been to Disney World but not Disneyland. I think it would be fun to go as anadult and experience everything. But hubby is not excited about going without a kid. Says it seems weird to him to go without a child. Except once we have kids we probably won’t be able to afford to go! I can never win!! 🙂

    The Dharma house, I LOVE it!

Leave a Reply

