His Girl Saturday

Standard

I feel crummy and definitely need to go to bed now otherwise tomorrow morning it’s going to be awful trying to get up for work, but I couldn’t let the weekend slip away entirely without sharing this with the bloglanders:

2009_0110endofyear0015

It’s sort of a long story, but Hurley and I found this girl when we were out walking the neighborhood yesterday afternoon– she was at a yard sale. Not FOR sale herself, mind you. Just there, hanging out in the driveway. We went over to say hello (well, he kind of pulled me over) and got to talking with the woman who lived there. It turned out that the dog wasn’t really hers; she had found her walking down near the canal three weeks ago. She hung flyers around the neighborhood, posted found notices on Craigslist, put notes up at the grocery stores… and no one ever contacted her. A couple people called and said they’d take the dog if she couldn’t find the owners, which was weird, but she wasn’t going to consider that.

However, she has three older cats who were NOT pleased that a dog had come to stay with them. She knew she had to find this little girl a home of her own, soon. Or take her to the pound, which she really didn’t want to do.

One thing led to another, and I found myself walking TWO dogs back home.

She’s an older lady, somewhere between five and maybe eight years old. She seems to be a golden retriever mix of some sort; but she’s small, so she almost looks like she is still a puppy. She is VERY nice and friendly, and she and Hurley get along well. She’s turned out to be not very playful with him, which is the only downfall… Hurley LOVES playing with other dogs and he has tried to engage her a couple of times, but she just smiles and seems like she is saying, “Oh, I’m sorry, but you want me to do WHAT now? Silly dog.” She’s not trying to run the house, and listens when I give her a command, and she is polite and respectful of Hurley.

In turn, Hurley’s doing just fine. I had a moment of panic last night when I started to think he could feel jealous or left out when she sits near me or I am petting her. But my mom and sister came over today to see the whole dynamic first-hand, and they agreed that Hurley seemed fine with having her here. He is still doing his usual thing; racing around the yard barking at birds and planes, eating like normal, playing with his toys and jumping up in the air and standing on me when I talk to him. So even if she isn’t the most hyper playmate, he’s still giving off the impression that it’s cool if the girl-dog is here; he doesn’t mind. It’s cute.

I’m just a little on the fence, and it’s mostly for selfish reasons. After fostering that Little Guy a couple weeks ago, I realized how much I love the way my life is with just me and Hurley in the house. I love our little dynamic. And I wasn’t in a hurry to find a second dog. But then, BLAM. This happens. You never know, I guess.

The other reason is financial. I’m not entirely confident that I will have a job after February… no one at my company is. And I have already taken the 10% pay cut. Can I afford another dog? I sure hope so. I think so. Hurley’s been relatively cheap so far, thank goodness. But this girl is older. And she is a heavy breather with a little wheezin’ going on. Plus, her eyes are runny. What if she’s sick? Can I afford a lot of vet bills? EEEeeek.

After I get paid this week, I’m going to take her to our vet to have her checked out. The woman actually already got her vaccinated and checked over once she realized the dog might be there a little longer than she thought… but I want proof that she’s healthy first-hand. If all goes well, she is just fine. Maybe a little overweight, sure, but we can fix that. 🙂 With the way Hurley eats, if we weren’t going on walks almost every night, he’d be a little porker.

So that’s what’s going on. I’m maybe 90% sure I am keeping her. Now I have to come up with a name. I’ve been calling her Olive a lot already, because that’s a name I’ve wanted to give a little girl pet for awhile. But she could also be a Lucy or Lucille. And my sister suggested Pigby because she sounds kind of like a piglet, and she looks a lot like Digby on Pushing Daisies (and then, of course, there is a real Pigby on the show, too…). I just don’t know yet. It’ll happen when it’s supposed to.

Here’s a couple more photos of The Girl. Isn’t she a cutie?!

2009_0110endofyear0012

2009_0110endofyear0004

2009_0110endofyear0007

5 responses »

  1. Awww, she’s beautiful, and I love that little stretch yoga-pose she’s doing in the middle picture. I think she could make a good dog who has a name prefaced with “Mrs.” One of my old classmates had a Cairn Terrier named “Mrs. Wiggins,” so I could definitely see something like that for her. Mrs. Pigby, maybe? Ain’t nothin’ funnier than dogs joined by the law, you know!

  2. She is a cutie. Ya know, Shades and I were talking today about dogs and she said, “you never just get a dog for free anymore” but I would like to add, “unless you are L”. Ha ha, you have all the luck. Well, I hope Olive/Lucy/Pigby/Mrs. Pigby turns out to be healthy and a keeper. I love your dog tails.

    Oh and holy shit, I hope you have a job! That would be horrible! Good luck!

  3. Chippy- Thanks! She is pretty, even if she is a bit of a lump. She crashed out on my bed last night and was so sound asleep I thought she was dead this morning. Then she woke up and was yawning and stretching and making little grunt noises… just like me. Hurley, in contrast, is a light sleeper and cannot sleep on the bed with me because I move around and I think it annoys him. So he sleeps next to the bed, on his own bed. And he wakes up at the smallest noise and runs to check it out. Oh, and I love your idea of adding a “Mrs.” in front of her name, too! I was actually thinking about Golden Girls names for her as I was falling asleep last night, and of the four ladies I have it down to either Rose or Sophia. Mrs. Rose Nylund? Mrs. Sophia Petrillo? Hmmm. The naming part is SO HARD!

    Naynay- Hee hee, I have all the luck, right? 🙂 If it evens the playing field a little, Hurley cost $175; the fee from the rescue group. Kinda steep, but clearly it was a strong investment. Actually, our friend Traci is the queen of finding free dogs. She always seems to find strays that need homes and even right now, she is trying to find a home for a poodle. I’ve never met anyone who has such a powerful stray-dog-magnet built in. RE: my job… yeah ME TOO!! I’m developing an ulcer, I think, and it’s got to be related to my job and the subconscious stress of worrying about losing it. I’ve been laid off twice before, so it wouldn’t be anything new to me, but I REALLY like this job and this company and I don’t wanna leave. Plus I have kinda high rent since it’s a house and all, so I worry about being able to pay it if I don’t have my salary. Yeeeesh. Scary times.

  4. Fun times!

    Saw an A&E DOG-cumentary on dvd the other day. Lady had two standard poodles, one white & one black; names were Popeye and Olive.

  5. She is adorable! Such a great face and wise eyes. 🙂 And you are so right, no animal is free. Because even free there is all the extra stuff that you have to get to keep the pet! Hubby jokes the cats eat better than us some weeks when we are scrimping and eating our pantry bare.

    I hope you get to keep your job. I am having the same fear and let me tell you, it is not fun. The job market is scary right now. I will be thinking of you and hoping that you hear some good news soon. And get rid of your ulcer, ouch!

Leave a Reply

