The three-day headache

Standard

Yes, it’s day three of this stupid headache and I want to punch someone over it. Of course, there is no one to punch. Except for God, and well, he’s kinda, sorta, unpunchable, being a deity and everything. So I just have to deal with it and keep my whining to a minimum.

By the way, it’s a sinus thing and luckily not a migraine. Whew. Still, the pressure is definitely annoying and my eyes feel ready to pop out of my head. Yuck. I just want to sleep and then, when I wake up, sleep some more. That’s what I did yesterday…slept later than I wanted to, went out for a few hours, came home and slept until it was time for dinner. I mean it, I really feel like I can’t get enough sleep no matter how much of it I get. Anyone else have this problem lately, or is it just me?

This past weekend was nice, if I delete the headache part of it. On Saturday I got a lot of errands taken care of (including that fun oil and battery drop-off at the dump… they really turned that into a big affair. A surprisingly long line of cars were waiting to get in, and then you had to drive through a maze until guys in white suits unloaded the stuff from the cars. I just handed mine out the window. Woo hoo. It took about 30 minutes just to drop off 6 AA batteries and the oil from the lawnmower. Sure glad I did that.) and took Hurley for a photo with Santa! I only got a hardcopy of the photo so I can’t post it here, especially since I have no scanner. But it was to benefit one of the shelters out here, and I felt like I had to do it. He did well, even though he was highly confused by the person in the weird suit wanting to hold him while I walked away to stand behind the photographer and call to him. He looked SO worried in the photo, it made me want to laugh/cry! It came out cute, though, and I had fun seeing all the other dogs on line for Santa. My favorite was a HUGE English bulldog named Rosie, who waddled over to Hurley and sniffed him while making a sound that was almost an oink. Adorable! I could have stolen her, if I could have picked her up. I doubt I could have. 🙂

Saturday night was cookie decorating at my sister’s place. It was a fun time. Between the three of us (including Mom) we did about 55 cookies, with 5 colors of frosting that my sister made on the spot. They taste great, too. We watched Rudolph and the Garfield Christmas Special (which was nowhere near as wonderful as we remembered it) as well as a TNT original movie called Borrowed Hearts. Finally, when it was time to leave I took my Mom home with me so she wouldn’t have to drive all the way back to her house since she was dead tired from all that decorating well into the night.

When I pulled up to my house, I saw that my mailbox was lying on the ground. Someone had broken it right off the post! They also smashed my neighbor’s mailbox. I was FURIOUS. Who does this anymore? Really? And besides, people are always home on my street and they had done it before 11pm, so someone was likely around or heard it happen. That was risky of the perpetrators. Anyway, it’s plastic underneath and a plastic bolt was snapped off in the attack… last night I used some crazy glue in an attempt to reattach it. I’m not hopeful it will really work, but I wanted to try something in the meantime before I can let the landlord know.

And yesterday we went out for breakfast with Mom, braved one of the malls for a little while before we almost exploded with disgust; and then, like I mentioned, I napped. Last night I wrote out the Christmas cards, finally, and watched more of Spaced, which my sister was right about: it’s very good. Kind of cute and sweet, but funny in a British way. I’m smitten.

Today was our department holiday lunch and white elephant gift exchange. It was fun. I couldn’t find anything around the house to give away, since I really did get rid of a lot of junk when I moved. So I bought something. I got a Ruben Studdard CD, a can of SPAM and a bar of poison ivy soap, and wrapped them up all pretty. Everything cost a total of about $3 (thanks, Walgreens clearance bins!) and it got a good laugh. So that was cool. The gift I ended up walking away with was two VHS tapes: Gosford Park and The Young Poisoner’s Handbook. Weirdly, I’ve seen TYPH already. It was funny. I liked doing this rather than a serious gift exchange.

I have to go work now. If I can. I feel a little like fleeing. Must be this headache, and this being a Monday.

8 responses »

  1. Did anyone call the police? Tampering with mailboxes- federal offense and all that…

    I have had the two-week headache. As in “the damn wind has been blowing every day for TWO (going on THREE) WHOLE WEEKS now! and my head aches when the wind blows.”

    And I don’t know what it blew in, but suddenly I come home from teaching my class and running my 3 miles and then I haven’t been able to stop SNEEZING! Or dripping, or blowing… I think this is my body’s reaction to sitting at grandpa’s house yesterday- damn cigarette smoke.

    Thank you for mentioning the Garfield Christmas Special- I was just wondering last week what the hell was wrong with t.v.s that they no longer broadcast those! I mean! I am an anti-Peanuts fanatic. Gimme some Garfield, any day.

  2. Sorry about your headache. I woke up with one today and it hasn’t gone away and I have the feeling it’s going to linger on for awhile.

    Isn’t that called mailbox baseball? Or something like that, where people swing baseball bats at mailboxes? I hope you can find out who did it and make them pay for a new one.

  3. Headache. Here! For about two weeks. Every time the winds pick up. Mine are sinus related too. I come to expect them now. But have not had a knock down kill me now migraine since last Monday thank goodness. Hope you feel better soon!

    Garfield Christmas! I forgot about that one. I think I even own it since I have the holiday ones (Thanksgiving and Halloween) on DVD. Will have to watch it when I get home.

    I agree with Shades, busting up a mailbox is a federal offense I believe and it should be reported.

    I bet Hurley’s picture is adorable! And that white elephant gift exchange sounds fun. So you make a point of giving something horrible? How fun!

  4. Headache. Here! For about two weeks. Every time the winds pick up. Mine are sinus related too. I come to expect them now. But have not had a knock down kill me now migraine since last Monday thank goodness. Hope you feel better soon!

    Garfield Christmas! I forgot about that one. I think I even own it since I have the holiday ones (Thanksgiving and Halloween) on DVD. Will have to watch it when I get home.

    I agree with Shades, busting up a mailbox is a federal offense I believe and it should be reported.

    I bet Hurley’s picture is adorable! And that white elephant gift exchange sounds fun. So you make a point of giving something horrible? How fun!

  5. Shades- Weird that we all have headaches these days. It’s quite yucky. I don’t know about you, but I function at my WORST when I have a headache; I’d rather have a stomachache or something if I had to have an “ache”. Anyway… it feels better since I bought some new nasal spray and tried it tonight. As for the mailbox: nope, I didn’t bother calling the police, and I doubt my neighbor did, either. Just chalking it up to kids messing around. If it happens AGAIN, though, I am totally callin’ the popo. Garfield’s Christmas special isn’t that fabulous…but it does beat Charlie Brown Christmas. I like that we share a sense of “what’s the big deal with this again?” when it comes to the Peanuts. 🙂

    SA- Another headache victim. What the HELL is going on?! Hmm. I do hope yours goes away, too. Normally I don’t use nasal spray but I figured it couldn’t hurt to try today and I’m glad I did. Maybe you could try it too if you think yours is sinus related…? I dunno. I am no doctor. Oh, and when I got home the night the mailbox was broken, I stalked up and down my driveway and the sidewalk in front of my house, giving the stink-eye to the teenagers hanging out down the street a little ways, just in case it was them who did it. I doubt they did, since they seem kind of quiet and mellow (pot smokers, I believe), but if they saw something, they’re just as guilty, man.

    VP- Alright, that’s three of us now. Are you like me, and sometimes a regular tension or sinus headache turns into a migraine? I hate when that happens… knock on wood, in the past three days I’m not sure any of them were migraines, although today was close. My vision was all wonky in my left eye from the pressure on that side. Yuck. Anyway, if you watch Garfield, let me know what you think. There’s a Whore-ish Grandma with slutty red lipstick and big titties. Woooo! And I think Jon’s brother, “Doc Boy”, might be “special” since he still lives at home with his parents and seems to enjoy wearing overalls. As for the white elephant, YES, the thing was to give something you had around the house but didn’t want– the goal being re-gifting. There was some funny stuff in there. I was so proud when I heard someone say the CD, SPAM and the poison ivy soap was the “worst” gift. YAY! Score! I’d so much rather do something weird and random like this than worry and spend a ton of money on something “nice.” It’s how I roll. 😉

  6. I hate sinus headaches. I get them often in the fall/winter and I turn into a whiny crier. I can’t even imagine what having a migraine is like!

    I saw the picture of Hurley you sent Lauren with the wreath around his head. So cute! He definitely is in the Christmas spirit. 🙂

    The cookie decorating sounds like so much fun. I love Christmas cookies.

  7. Is that movie Borrowed Hearts the one with the lady from Touched By An Angel, and Will from Will and Grace? And don’t you love how I asked, like I don’t know good and damn well that’s exactly what it is, because I’ve seen it about eleventy-hundred times, since they play it about 300 times every year at Christmas. That’s one of my favorite things about this time of year: all the thinly plotted TV movies that come on Lifetime and The Hallmark Channel. Oh, the cheese.

    Hope your head’s feeling better, lady.

  8. Naynay- A migraine is a headache that’s so bad it hurts to move your head, the pain could make you nauseous, or your vision or hearing is affected… you’d know if you got one, so if you’ve never had those symptoms you are very lucky, indeed! Whew. (I hadn’t realized that I’d been having migraines for awhile until a doctor told me that’s what was going on. I thought I was just a wuss; that all headaches felt like that. Turns out, NOPE. Same goes for endometriosis pain… cramps every month aren’t supposed to hurt THAT much. But I just figured I just had a low tolerance to pain all those years. I have since learned that if I have intense PAIN it means something is wrong. Weird that it took me a whole lifetime to learn that.) Oh, and Hurley is wearing a little elf costume from the $1 section at Target. It’s a little hat and green collar. I’ll get a proper picture that I can post up here soon. Heh.

    Fraulein- Oh, yeah, that’s the movie alright. The funny thing is that my sister has been talking about watching that movie for years. And it took me until this weekend to finally see it. The little girl is a horrible child actor. Holy crap. We had a lot of fun laughing at that movie, because the cheese is off the charts. I hadn’t put much stock in cheesy Hallmark movies, I admit it. But now this Borrowed Hearts business might have changed things. I might have to watch more junk. I know there was something last year with Emma Caulfield from Buffy and it was a retelling of Christmas Carol…? U don’t know.

    PS: My headache is gone today. Halleluiah, holy shit! Someone passed the Tylenol!

Leave a Reply

