Success!

Standard

I saw the movie and I definitely liked it! 🙂

I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. I loved how they stuck to the book, and there were many, many parts that were GREAT. Beautiful, even. Like any movie, there were some little things I could have done without, but seriously? NICE JOB. I plan to see it again. And I don’t do that often…see a movie in the theater a second time. But it was fun, damn it!

Also: the screenwriter’s group meeting went well yesterday. There were about 10 guys and three women there. One of the guys had a script excerpt that we read–it was poker/heist movie– that wasn’t very good at all. I learned a lot from the comments and critiques people made. Too bad the guy who wrote it was kind of a douche about it. He was defending everything he did and seemed genuinely hurt that people weren’t going crazy over how cool his script was. It amused me, actually. Because the second script excerpt we read was by one of the women there. It was a vampire thing, about a woman whose little boy and mother are killed by vampires and she spends years trying to figure out the science that makes people vampires… it was a short excerpt (not like the idiot guy’s excerpt, which was 27 pages long, EEK) so there’s a lot there about the plot we didn’t get to read, but I can say it was far superior to the guy’s script. And not because it was VAMPIRES. Come on. What do you take me for? No, it was simply interesting and everyone in the room was really into it. The notes they gave her were also educational for me. It was neat to hear a critique of a crummy script and then one of a decent one. I even offered up some suggestions for both scripts. It surprised me that my old “oooh, I know how you can make this better” urges came over me. This happens during meetings, when I am editing things, etc… and I get kind of ADD about it. I can’t sit still until I get to say my suggestion. Usually I have to wait to sit through some other person’s babbling. And then I say it, and it’s like an adrenaline rush. Yesterday it happened, too, when the writer took notes on what I said and someone else in the room would say something like, “yeah, I like that, that’s good!” I did it a few times. I just saw some opportunities to fix a problem the writer was having, and shared my idea. It was pretty cool. Which makes me think I could be decent at collaborating on a script, or being a script editor, or something. I don’t know. It feels wide open right now. 🙂

And the other woman at the meeting sat next to me and she told me such encouraging things; she said the group really needed more women and she was so glad I was there, and that she had worked in LA for years before moving to PHX and in her experience (she worked in post-production as an editor and also on the front end as a script reader), she was consistently impressed with the fact that women often submitted the most “interesting” scripts, and were more likely to be “original rather than derivative” in their work. She was so nice and down to earth, and made me feel welcome, even when some of the guys in the room were kind of arrogant and know-it-all-y in their comments and babblings. (Some of them definitely babbled about What They Knew To Be True About Screenwriting and it was almost funny how douchey it made them look, and they didn’t even seem to know it.)

So I am going again. And I have a couple of brand new ideas of things I can write.

Before I go get in the shower and actually get going for the day, I did want to say one more thing about Twilight: so, say you are a dude. Or someone who doesn’t like “vampire movies or books.” SEE IT ANYWAY. I think it will surprise you. Because it’s not just a girly movie, and the vampire aspect is sooooo not what you think. There is practically no blood shown in the movie, for one. It’s more about characters. I’m just saying, give it a chance. 🙂 That is all.

5 responses »

  1. I could not agree more with your last statement. I mean my hubby had every reason to hate the movie because of how much I mooned over the books and he loved it. Said it was a great cross between drama and action. Esepcailly the dance studio scene. 🙂

    I am so glad you saw it and liked the movie. I hope we can see it again together some day.

    Your workshop sounds amazing. I can’t wait to hear their reaction to your wonderful work. What a great experience and learning environment for you.

  2. I would really like to take JQ to see it. I would love a non-fan p.o.v. Your last paragraph and the fact that Charming liked it makes me want to take him to see it even more.

  3. My dad would have seen it and enjoyed it.
    I wish the family could have all gone together, like we tend to do, but he had to sleep because he’s on the night shift this weekend, and Mom opted to watch Nephew so that Little Sis and I could see it together.

  4. Yay! The screenwriter’s meeting was a success. That is good. I don’t know the first thing about writing so it was interesting to read about how writers are when they get together. You are such a good writer so I am sure you fit in and they will like what you write. When do you get to read your writing?

  5. I loved the movie, and I’m not just saying that because I’m a fan of the books. I was surprised by how good the acting was. I don’t know if that has more to do with the script and the director, or the actors themselves, but everybody was really pitch-perfect. And the cinematography was gorgeous, especially considering how small the budget was.

    So glad your screenwriters’ meet-up went well. I can’t wait to see your work.

Leave a Reply

